2006    Allen, Katherine, BA Oxf

Director, Amnesty International UK 2000-

2017   Amersi, Mohammed, BA Sheff, MA Oxf

Founder and Chairman of the Inclusive Ventures Group, and the Founder and Chairman of the Amersi Foundation. Member of the Chancellor’s Court of Benefactors 2016.

2003    Baker, the Rt Hon Sir (Thomas) Scott (Gillespie), PC

Lord Justice of Appeal 2002–2010; President of the Court of Appeal of Bermuda, 2015-

2010    Barton, Dominic, BA MPhil Oxf

Global Managing Partner of McKinsey 2009 -18; Chair of the Canadian Minister of Finance’s Advisory Council on Economic Growth, the chair of the Seoul International Business Advisory Council; Trustee of the Brookings Institution; Rhodes House trustee; adjunct professor at Tsinghua University in Beijing; board member of FCLT Global (Focusing Capital on the Long Term). Received the Public Service Star (Distinguished Friends of Singapore) award in 2015. Member of the Chancellor’s Court of Benefactors 2013.

2010    Beatson, the Rt Hon Sir Jack, LLD Camb, DCL Oxf, FBA

Fellow, Merton 1973–94; Hon Fellow, St John’s College, Camb; Lord Justice of Appeal 2013–2018; Visiting Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Oxford, 2018-

1989    Blundell, Sir Tom Leon, BA DPhil Oxf, FRS

Hon Dr Antwerp, East Anglia, Edinburgh, Sheffield, Strathclyde, Warwick. British biochemist, structural biologist, and science administrator

2013    Brand, Andrea, MBiochem Oxf, PhD Camb, FRS, FMedSci

Herchel Smith Professor of Molecular Biology at the Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute and a member of the Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience at the University of Cambridge.

2011    Bratza, Sir Nicolas, MA Oxf

Former President of the European Court of Human Rights 2011 – 2012. Judge of the European Court of Human Rights 1998 – 2012. Board member of the International Service for Human Rights 2013 -.

2015    Burrows, Andrew Stephen, Hon QC, LLM Harvard, MA DCL Oxf, FBA

CUF Lecturer and Fellow, Lady Margaret Hall 1986–94; Norton Rose Professor of Commercial Law and Fellow, St Hugh’s 1999–2010; Hon Bencher, Middle Temple; Professor of Law.

2006    Cameron, the Rt Hon David, BA Oxf

            Leader, Conservative Party 2005– 2016; Prime Minister 2010 – 2016.

2011    Cashmore, Roger John, CMG, MA DPhil Oxf, FRS

Fellow Merton 1977–9, Balliol 1979–2003; Professor of Experimental Physics 1992–2003; Principal Brasenose College 2003–11; Emeritus Fellow, Balliol 2004–; Chairman, UKAEA 2010– .

2016    Cheah, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr Jeffrey, AO

Honorary Doctorates conferred by: Flinders, Greenwich, Lancaster, Leicester, Michigan, Monash, Oxford Brookes, Victoria and Western Australia universities. Gonville Fellow Gonville & Caius College Cambridge. Member of Chancellor’s Court of Benefactors 2016.

2018   Coyle, Diane, CBE, FRSA, BA Oxf, MA PhD Harvard

            Vice Chair of the BBC Trust 2006-2014; Member of the Competition Commission 2001-2009; Member of the Migration Advisory Committee 2009-2014; Expert adviser to the National Infrastructure Commission; Member, HM Treasury Council of Economic Advisers and Natural Capital Committee; Chair, National Institute of Economic and Social Research; Visiting Research Fellow, University of Oxford Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment 2013-; Professor of Economics, University of Manchester 2014-2017; Bennett Professor of Public Policy, University of Cambridge 2017-

2010    Crook, Joseph Mordaunt, CBE, MA DPhil Oxf, FBA, FSA

Slade Professor of Fine Art 1979–80; Waynflete Lecturer, Magdalen 1985–6; Hon DLitt London.

2004    Gill, Sir Robin Denys, KCVO, MA Oxf

            Founder, former Chair and present Trustee of the Royal Anniversary Trust.

2013    Hill, Catharine, MA Oxf

            President of Vassar College 2006 – 2016

2018   Jackson, Peter Arthur Brian, the Hon Sir Peter Jackson, BA Oxf
Deputy High Court Judge 2003-2010; Family Division of the High Court 2010-2017; Family Division Liaison Judge for the Northern Circuit 2011-2017; English Appeal Court Judge 2017-

1999    Janvrin, Robin Berry, the Rt Hon Lord Janvrin, CB, KCVO, MA Oxf

Private Sec. to the Queen, 1996-99 Private Secretary to the Queen and Keeper of the Queen's Archives 1999-2007. Chairman of the Royal Foundation of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Harry from 2010-2016, a Trustee of the National Portrait Gallery 2008-2016

2013    Johnson, Michelle, MA Oxf

            First female Superintendent of US Air Force Academy 2013 – 2017.

1983    Judd, Brian Raymond, MA DPhil Oxf

            Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Johns Hopkins

2013    Kent, Bruce, BA Oxf

Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (CND) General Secretary 1980 – 1985, Chair 1987 – 1990 now Vice President.

2017   Kosterlitz, John Michael, BA MA Cambs, DPhil Oxf

Professor of Physics, Brown University 1982-; Awarded Nobel Prize for Physics 2016

2018   Marks, Alexandra Louise, CBE, BA Oxf

Criminal Cases Review Commissioner, 2003-, Deputy High Court Judge, 2009-, Chair, Prisoners’ Education Trust, 2012-

2003    Mellor, Dame Julie Therese, BA Oxf

Commissioner at the Commission for Racial Equality 1996 -2003, Chairman of the Equal Opportunities Commission 1999 -2005 and of the Fatherhood Institute 2004 -2008, Parliamentary and Health Services Ombudsman (PHSO) 2012 - 2016

1990    O’Neill, Robert John, AO, BE Melbourne, MA DPhil Oxf, FASSA

Chichele Professor of the History of War and Fellow, All Souls 1987–2001

2003    Palin, Michael Edward, CBE FRGS, BA Oxf

English comedian, actor, writer and television presenter; President of the Royal Geographical Society 2019-2012; BAFTA Fellowship 2013.

1998    Saville, Mark Oliver, the Rt Hon Lord Saville of Newdigate, BA BCL Oxf

High Court Judge 1985-1993; Lord Justice of Appeal 1994 – 1997. Chair of the Bloody Sunday inquiry 1998- 2009. Supreme Court Justice 2009 – 2010. President of the Academy of Experts 2006 –

1994    Smith, Anthony David, CBE, MA Oxf

Research Fellow, St Antony’s 1971–6; President, Magdalen College 1989–2005

2015    Smith, Gerald, MA St Andrews, BPhil Oxf

Partner at Baillie Gifford 1998– ; Member of the Brasenose Investment Advisory Committee. Member of the Chancellor’s Court of Benefactors 2016.

2013    Tucker, William, BA Oxf

A sculptor he has received various awards, including the Sculpture Center {New York) award for Distinction in Sculpture (1991), the Rodin-Moore Memorial Prize, Second Fujisankei Biennale, Japan (1995), the annual award from the New York Studio School (1999), the RA Summer Exhibition Sculpture Prize (2009), and the International Sculpture Center Lifetime Achievement Award (2010).

1997    Vallance, Iain David Thomas, Lord Vallance of Tummel, Kt, MSc Lond School of Business Studies, MA Oxf

Hon DSc City, Napier, Ulster; Hon DTech Lough, Robert Gordon; Hon DBA Kingston; Hon DEng H-W. Chairman of British Telecommunications from 1987 – 2001.

2010    van Heerden, the Hon Mrs Justice Belinda, LLB Stellenbosch, MA Oxf

            Judge of Appeal (South Africa) 2004 –.

1993    Wates, Sir Christopher Stephen, BA Oxf, FCA

Chief Executive of Wates Group from 1984 to 2000. Church Commissioner from 1992 to 1996.

2010    Wiggins, David R P, MA Oxf, FBA

Wykeham Professor of Logic 1993–2000 and Emeritus Fellow from 2000.

2013    Wightman, Nigel David, BA MPhil Oxf

Director of Wheelock NatWest Ltd 1995-96; Managing Director of State Street Global Advisors Ltd 1997-2005; Chair of the Brasenose Investment Advisory Committee 2008 -; Chairman of JP Morgan Global Growth & Income PLC 2010-; Director of Managed Pension Funds Ltd 2015-; Director of SSGA Ireland Unit Trust Management Ltd 2015-

Read the Prospectus

Prospective Students

Read more about studying at Brasenose College.

Latest News

Principal's Blog

Brasenose Intranet

Access the new Brasenose Intranet

Open Days

Visit us during the summer Undergraduate open days